Paintings 1 to 10

After many years of not touching paint, I recently managed to regain some consistency and rhythm in painting. Doubts are everywhere. Alone and outnumbered, I start with number 1.

IMG_0521

#1 (4 Feb 2016): Couch covered in red blanket, caught in late afternoon sunlight. The stark shadows and plant silhouette caught my eye. I took a photo and decided this will be my number 1 painting. (Oil on Board 15 x 19.5 cm)

IMG_0522

#2 (6 Feb 2016): This is a still life in the mind. I was after strong shadows. The red in the apple was a gift.  (Oil on Board 15 x 19.5 cm)

IMG_0523

#3 (10 Feb 2016): This is a landscape in the mind. I had often done watercolours of this scene. I know it well, but the paint is new.  (Oil on Board 15 x 19.5 cm)

IMG_0526 - Copy

#4 (15 Feb 2016): An invented landscape. (Oil on Board 15 x 19.5 cm)

IMG_0527

#5 (20 Feb 2016): I took a photo of the early morning sunlight moving through the pine trees near the river. The painting was done a few days later.  (Oil on Board 15 x 15 cm)

IMG_0530

#6 (24 Feb 2016): Familiar landscape in the mind. Photo is overexposed and has some glare. Painting is better but I am still struggling to find my feet with the oil on primed panel.  (Oil on Board 26 x 20.3 cm)

IMG_0531

#7 (26 Feb 2016): This was painted from a photo of our neighbour’s farm, looking north to the Hakarimata mountains. I think the paint texture and composition is getting better but the colour came out too bright and pretty for my taste. (Oil on Board 20.4 x 15 cm)

IMG_0533

#8 (27 Feb 2016): An invented still life. I was after something with a sadness, a sort of mystery in it. The painting is wonderful to me but the photo does not do it justice.  (Oil on Board 25.8 x 20.20.2 cm)

IMG_0534

#9 (5 Mar 2016): I have been experimenting with some abstracts. This is a very small panel. The photo is not good, the painting is a bit better. I’m keeping it.  (Oil on Board 15 x 15 cm)

IMG_0535

#10 (6 Mar 2016): Another abstract. This one a bit larger. Colours on the actual painting much more lustrous and deep which is a positive. Other than that, the road goes up all the way.  (Oil on Board 32 x 29.5 cm)

6 thoughts on “Paintings 1 to 10

  1. The paintings are beautiful — I especially like 1, 3 and 7, but they’re all lovely — would be nice to see them larger (I magnified the screen on my computer to enlarge them some). The colors are so vivid. How wonderful that you’re painting again because these are fabulous.

    Like

  2. These are gorgeous painting. The visual texture is palpable. I hope that you have them displayed somewhere proudly or that someone oaid you handsomely for them. Truly beautiful works.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh that makes me sad! I hope that you love the new ones you did. Did you post those, too? I know that you painted the previous pictures a while ago. Just know that they were lovely.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks very much Jo. Yes most of the new ones are all posted. These days I post more regularly on Instagram, if you are interested: @fritzjoosteartist. Thanks again for visiting and for your kind words.

        Like

Leave a Reply

