Painting #17

This next painting was based on a photograph I took when I still lived in South Africa, where I grew up. For a time I lived with my family on a farm east of Pretoria, a grassland landscape I loved deeply. Here I took endless walks with our dogs, mostly late afternoon as twilight came. The next few paintings are all based on photos taken on one of those walks:

IMG_0591
#17: Late Summer (Oil on Panel, 25.3 x 20.2 cm – approximately 10 x 8 inches)

I am not too fond of this painting but I like it’s abstract undercarriage. I will keep on trying this scene, maybe by #217 it will be OK. The soil really is that red! Unfortunately I only have a printed version of the photo – now about a decade old. The photo looks quite different from my painting. I pushed the value range a bit and also changed the shape of the foreground shadows.

I am still working on the glare in my photos – you will notice it comes from the right, where the largest window in my studio is. I plan to go back and brush up on Carol Marine’s instructions for photographing paintings, in her generous book. Once I get the hang of it I will try to replace these photos with better ones. Please bear with it for now!

 

3 thoughts on “Painting #17

  1. I quite like this painting. The colors are so evocative.
    And I love the title of your blog. Better to explore the darkness and learn from it than to ignore it and let it sneak up on you. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

