Painting #25

This is yet another painting of an area where I took many source photos about 10 years ago. My painting #21 was done just a few hundred metres from this spot.

No DMR
#25 (9 May 2016, Oil on Canvas, 10 x 8 inches)

I can clearly remember the day this photo was taken. I was driving home from work late afternoon after a typical African early summer thunderstorm.

The earth was soaked with water standing everywhere. I took a stack of source photos which have yielded quite a few watercolours. This is the first oil painting of this specific day’s series of source photos. Some of the source photos I used for this painting are shown below.

The image below shows how the final painting evolved from a work in progress.

IMG_0623
Work in progress showing under painting and start of sky

The last three of my oil paintings have all dealt with roads, which is interesting because in my work as a civil engineer I deal almost exclusively with the design and maintenance of roads. But for me the significance of roads points another way…straight to the heart.

I have been looking at some poems that have a theme or a mention of roads in them. One of my favourites is this one by Friedrich Holderlin, translated by Robert Bly in his book News of the Universe. Below is my own shortened adaptation of this poem, with a bit of a Zen twist:

The roads are bad
and the chained elements keep wandering off.
A longing to disintegrate is always present.
Many things, however, have to stay on the shoulders.
Steadiness is essential.
Not looking ahead or back,
remain intimate, ever arriving.
Learn to live swaying,
as in a rocking boat at sea.
Adaptation after Friedrick Hoderlin’s All the Fruit
Many thanks to all for their encouragement and kind words through likes, comments  and follows.

10 thoughts on “Painting #25

    1. Many thanks for your kind comments. I hope your own painting is going well. I briefly saw your recent watercolour portrait but have not had time to comment. I hope to do so soon, although I am off on a four day trek with my wife and son, so I may be away from the world of blogging untill monday next week. All the best for you untill then!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Seeing the underpainting and the finished painting together, it’s interesting to note how the color affects the picture’s mood. They are like different kinds of weather. The finished painting is very somber. You really sense that storm. And the underpainting, it’s as though it has radiant sunshine in it and a clear sky.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Aletha. I have to say the finished painting is actually brighter than the picture shows. I dont want to moan and groan about it in every post I make, but I am constantly disappointed about the photos of my paintings. I normally blog early evening as I return from work, and the first thing I do is photograph the most recent finished painting. Yesterday I arrived at home at last light and tried to take a photo in natural light. As a result it came out more fuzzy and somber. I am firmly resolved to try and find a solution. If I have to I will invest in some equipment, but a plan I have to make! All part of the journey! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love what can be done with oils, the finished painting is lush, but I would have liked the composition to include the top of the tree, like the photo on the left, but I’m a camera person so what do I know!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I thought long about that aspect and in the underpainting tried a shorter tree but it “kissed” the top of the painting, which, as you probably know,is a no-no. But every painting numbered below #1034 will be simply a learning exercise, so I will re-do this one soon. Photo is also much duller than real painting. Thanks so much for your support! I hope you get bright weather for your tree soon!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

