Painting #40

Here is my painting # 40:

#40 June 2016 (Oil on Panel, 30 x 28 cm)
#40 June 2016 (Oil on Panel, 30 x 28 cm)

I am not sure how I feel about this one, but I had some good moments while painting it!

A few hard days behind me, fatigue and worldly worries keeping the spirit in check. I wait for the tide to turn. My days at work punctuated by slow, unexplained sadness at times. I keep thinking of the lines in Simon and Garfunkel’s song “America”:

Cathy I’m lost I said, even though she was sleeping.
I’m empty and aching and I don’t know why…

Searching inside for a poem to go with this post, I repeatedly came up with the last lines from Louis Jenkins’ poem Violence on Television. This poem, with some others by Jenkins, can be found in the Robert Bly’s amazing anthology News of the Universe: Poems of Twofold Consciousness.

It is best to turn on the set only after all the stations have gone off the air and just watch the snow fall. This is the other life you have been promising yourself. Somewhere back in the woods, ten miles from the nearest town and that just a wide place in the road with a tavern and a gas station. When you drive home, after midnight, half drunk, the roads are treacherous. And your wife is home alone, worried, looking anxiously out at the snow. The snow has been falling steadily for days, so steadily the snow plows can’t keep up. So you drive slow, peering down the road. And there! Did you see it? Just at the edge of your headlight beams, something, a large animal, or a man, crossed the road. Stop. There he is among the birches, a tall man wearing a white suit. No, it isn’t a man. Whatever it is – it motions to you, an almost human gesture, then retreats farther into the woods. He stops and motions again. The snow is piling up all around the car. Are you coming?

Many thanks to all who have encouraged me with comments, likes and follows. I have been quite busy the past few days and still have to reply to some comments. I hope to get to this over the weekend, so watch this space!

16 thoughts on “Painting #40

  1. Am I seeing vague, subtle hints of an old shelf in this? Or is it only in my imagination? My mind could take that starting point and go very far in spinning a story. And the poem is haunting. Beautiful, yet chilling. I know it’s going to be fixed in my mind throughout the day, giving me much to think about.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes indeed Judith, but I have to say it was initially a shape only, based very roughly on my previous watercolor. But the moment that dark burnt sienna went down, the shelf popped out. Is seems like a constant theme, the next painting is growing in my head and it has another shelf!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Nadia, great to see you back here! Yes indeed I started with an idea to make this a more abstract oil version of my previous watercolor, but as soon as the first brush strokes went down, the painting took off in another direction. Thanks for your kind words.

      Like

Leave a Reply

