Painting #41

Here is my painting #41:

#41 Abstract Ledge (Oil on Canvas on Panel)
#41 Abstract Ledge (Oil on Canvas on Panel)

The idea of something – a shelf or ledge – emerging from semi-dark has been on my mind. I was thinking of the painting by Walter Tandy Murch “The Ledge” when I drew the thumbnail below. This painting and the next (in progress) grew from that concept.

Thumbnail sketch for paintings #41 and #42
Thumbnail sketch for paintings #41 and #42

Away on a business strip for a day, I could not paint or post yesterday. Woke up this morning at 4:50 am, which is good going for me. A four hour drive back home ahead of me, I waited and watched as, for a reason unknown, the well known words of Thoreau sunk down to my conscious mind:

I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived. I did not wish to live what was not life, living is so dear; nor did I wish to practise resignation, unless it was quite necessary. I wanted to live deep and suck out all the marrow of life, to live so sturdily and Spartan-like as to put to rout all that was not life, to cut a broad swath and shave close, to drive life into a corner, and reduce it to its lowest terms.

Henry David Thoreau – Walden

I have always been drawn to that first sentence. I lay in the semi-dark and reflected once again on my purpose for painting. By the time the first Blackbird sung, I had this laid out as a personal echo of Thoreau’s statement:

I went to my studio because I wished to be deliberately, to front only the essential facts of my self, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not looked deeply. I did not wish to paint from what was not my own self – creating is so intimate. Nor did I wish to paint as a means to an end, unless it was quite necessary. I wanted to search deep and suck the marrow out of art, to paint so sturdily and Spartan-like as to put to rout all that is not of my own self, to create both spontaneous and precise, to drive beauty out of the corner of my childhood heart and into the world.

Thanks so much for everyone who has supported me with likes, comments and especially those that follow my blog. I hope in this day that you will live with joy and contentment, unshackled from fears and expectations.

20 thoughts on “Painting #41

  1. My first impression was that this is so different from the others! And I can see how it connects back to the marsh landscapes, of course also to the other abstracts (#40 and #36) and the shelf watercolor. Painting #39 has elements that strongly resemble this new one. It’s very mysterious. I have never heard of Murch before. Looking him up on Google image, I see a lot of those images posted at Painting Perceptions reproduced in color, and his use of color and yours have a kinship. This shelf/ledge is really wonderful. I wonder what’s coming next.

    I think one of the really wonderful things in art is the not-knowing where your ideas are going and yet trusting the path and then making discoveries because you did trust that the path leads you right.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Many thanks Aletha. I seem to be drawn to a certain direction or imagery and at the moment I am happy to see where it will take me. Like you say, I don’t really have an idea where it is going, but I am comfortable with that.

      Regarding Murch, I love his paintings. The way he criss-crosses the boundary between realism and abstract art is very unique and, to me, intriguing and beautiful. I am also drawn to his somewhat monochromatic colour scheme with the strong emphasis on value. So like you point out, the same elements turn up in my paintings. His painting of a rock on a shelf blows my mind. The interview in PaintingPerceptions is very good, I return to it often.

      Thanks for your interest and encouragement.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have seen flawless paintings but I have never seen anything like this. Other painters focus on the painting skills and details but you focus on the meaning behind. Very impressive indeed

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have seen flawless paintings but I have never seen anything like this. You focus on the meaning behind rather than just some details and skills. Very impressive

    Liked by 2 people

  4. You are gonna have to hang all your abstracts as a group! How close are the colors to the others? I like the corner and straight lines in this one. The colors are nice also.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks DawnMarie, not sure these will ever be hanged though! In this painting amongst my usual colors, I also used Prussian Blue which I almost never use, and also Cadmium Yellow, which I seldom use. So it does look a bit different from the others in terms of color, I think? But the value scheme is probably quite similar.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. When you ask if I like them do you mean the color or the paintings? In both cases I like them, but for the color Prussian Blue can be very strong and hijack a whole color scheme, so I avoid it. I dont really like Cadmium yellow, I prefer more earthy yellows. I am planning to replace it with Naples Yellow soon. For transparent yellow I like Indian Yellow.

        Like

    1. Thanks Judith! Yes, that statement is quite a tall order and most of the time I end up well short of it. But I keep on trying! I will tey and catch up on your posts later today to see what you have been up to.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

