Painting #48 (after Clijoko)

#48: Watercolour abstract after Cliff (Clijoco)
#48: Watercolour Abstract Still Life, after Cliff (Clijoco)

This watercolour is directly based on one of the masterful paintings of an artist on DeviantArt whose work I very much admire. If you Google for “clijoco deviantart” and click on the Images tab you will see his gorgeous work. For me, his work strikes the perfect balance between representative and abstract painting.

Some of his work I can only describe as hauntingly beautiful, but I accept it may not be in everyone’s taste. Sadly, Cliff seems to have disappeared from DeviantArt and I could not find any other information about him.

Although I based my painting on the same concept as Cliff’s painting, I started with a thumbnail that I selected from the many I make every week:

Num-48-Thumbnail

In my still life, I tried to capture some of the same mystery as in Cliff’s paintings – a sort of curling inward in the semi-dark, a notion of “an infinitely gentle, infinitely suffering thing”:

Preludes – IV

His soul stretched tight across the skies
That fade behind a city block,
Or trampled by insistent feet
At four and five and six o’clock;
And short square fingers stuffing pipes,
And evening newspapers, and eyes
Assured of certain certainties,
The conscience of a blackened street
Impatient to assume the world.
I am moved by fancies that are curled
Around these images, and cling:
The notion of some infinitely gentle
Infinitely suffering thing.
Wipe your hand across your mouth, and laugh;
The worlds revolve like ancient women
Gathering fuel in vacant lots.
T.S Eliot, this version copied from Poetry Foundation

8 thoughts on “Painting #48 (after Clijoko)

  1. When I first viewed your painting, it gripped me…a hiding away, a vulnerability that hit me. I didn’t know that you paint with watercolors! no clue at all. I feel like a clown with all my color compared to your earthy tones. Good thing we are all different, I suppose.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Margaret! Yes, watercolor is my first love. I am a bit more comfortable with it, and that is why I initially only started to number my oil paintings to check my progress over time. But now I am thinking all painting is learning, so I am numbering them all.
      Your color is beautiful, really. I think you have also a strong presence of earth tones but lighter in value. I also admire your more direct painting with watercolor. A stroke goes down once and that’s it! It takes guts. In my watercolors I apply many layers to build up atmosphere. It is a different approach altogether. Your paintings are top class.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. thank you for your comments, interesting how you view my paintings and you are getting feedback from me…..makes it so inspiring to exchange ideas and noting the differences between different artists and their approaches, never boring is it?

        Like

  2. Cliff’s painting reminded me of this one by Andrew Wyeth. https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/20/57/c5/2057c5372e4d82975b69afcead1fdb6d.jpg

    I know you don’t like to work from life, but perhaps you should consider using an actual rock to observe the way that light goes round it, curls round it using Eliot’s evocative phrase. Even if you didn’t paint it, just having one in your studio might be nice & meditative — not one as big as Wyeth’s of course! More of a garden sized rock. Can be fun to pick it up and look at it. I have a big rock on the floor in my studio.

    Some of my family members, when I was a kid, told me that I have rocks in my head too — but I never paid them any mind ….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Aletha. Wow, that painting by Wyeth is beautiful. Interesting to compare it with the rock painting of Murch, isn’t it – same concept, different artists.
      You are very right about having a rock around to see what happens as the light changes. I need to find something like that. At present, however, I am always painting by artificial light.
      BTW, I hope you don’t think I am against working from life as a matter of principle! I really understand the value of looking carefully, I thought about that when I saw how you captured the changes in value on your blue bottle. It is just that I am very busy and have so little energy left – I need to focus on what gives me pleasure or I will lose interest. But the journey continues…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

