#62: Shadows Point

#62: Shadows Point (Watercolour and Charcoal on Paper 34 x 23.5 cm)
#62: Shadows Point (Watercolour and Charcoal on Paper 34 x 23.5 cm)

This is my second recent attempt at combining watercolour and charcoal. This is based on an actual still life and light situation I observed late last Sunday in a rare ray of sunshine in our New Zealand winter. The source photo and first stage photos are shown below.

 

Num-63-Source_2

The photo below shows the painting in its first stage, which was just a blue wash to establish the light and shadow areas. After this, I worked it to a fairly completed watercolour, albeit with slightly washed out colour. Once this is dry, I started to model the values and shapes using vine charcoal. This was done on Fabriano Hot Press paper, which is very smooth and allows me to work quite accurately.

Num-62-Stage_1_FR

I am happy with this effort, even though it does not stir a deep emotional response in me. I like the combination of the warm, grey colour on the wall and the more earthy charcoal darks. I had fun doing this, the drawing asked for extreme concentration.

Lost for a time in time, I was drawn back again to a moment in my studio, much like a draughty church, one Sunday afternoon; the light falling in a way that it will do never again, on this planet that will never be the same. Time past and time future. Will that moment be remembered?

...Time past and time future
Allow but little consciousness.
To be conscious is not to be in time
But only in time can the moment in the rose-garden,
The moment in the arbour where the rain beat,
The moment in the draughty church at smokefall
Be remembered; involved with past and future.
Only through time is time conquered.

T.S Eliot, Burnt Norton (Four Quarters)

Thanks so much to all who have encouraged me in my journey, with likes, comments and especially those that follow my blog. I hope you are happy and content.

6 thoughts on “#62: Shadows Point

  1. You lifted your little scene far beyond a simple subject…..absolutely love what you have been doing lately with the watercolor and charcoal. Rich color and rich feeling to boot 🙂 I am out of words but I think that I have conveyed what I am trying to say.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think this is great – I appreciate that it may not ‘stir the emotions’ but I don’t think it’s realistic to expect this from every painting, nor do I think as a viewer, I always want my emotions stirred. Often I’m looking for an escape, something peaceful and soothing, calm and quiet, a tranquil respite – something just like this painting.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

