#C16: Deep Woods

Not much energy tonight – had to drag myself to my studio and try not to think about the tin of brownies in the fridge. All I could muster were two charcoal and chalk drawings. The one above a moonlit scene, the one below of a deep wood.

The first sketch (above), started off with a scheme in mind – just a landscape. Later as I scratched and wiped out, the moon emerged through the paper clouds.

The image below started with just a lot of random black marks, mostly vertical, some thin, some thick. After I stepped back I saw the potential for a deep woods sketch. A lot of shadow, with the light hitting patches of trunk and forest floor. The path was added towards the end when the image became clearer.

I was reminded of the famous line from Dante’s Inferno: “In the middle of the journey of our life I found myself within a dark woods where the straight way was lost”.

c16-deep-woods

I have been reading Jane Hirchfield’s Ten Windows: How Great Poems Transform the World. This morning I read a section in which she quoted this beautiful poem, which so well describes that familiar Sunday afternoon nostalgia; my wondering: where do all these small moments go, I why is it that so few people seem to notice how they ceaselessly flow out of our lives?

 

Encounter
We were riding through frozen fields in a wagon at dawn.
A red wing rose in the darkness.
And suddenly a hare ran across the road.
One of us pointed to it with his hand.
That was long ago. Today neither of them is alive,
Not the hare, nor the man who made the gesture.
O my love, where are they, where are they going
The flash of a hand, streak of movement, rustle of pebbles.
I ask not out of sorrow, but in wonder.
Czeslaw Milosz
this version copied from Poetry in Translation

6 thoughts on “#C16: Deep Woods

Leave a Reply

