#C20 Tacoma Trailer

If you travel from Oliver Tambo International Airport, driving home toward Cullinan after a business trip in twilight, at some point if you look right you see a thick patch of Black Wattle just off the road. At that time, almost everything else is dark.

A meditation teacher once told how he saw at one point his mind – the mind – holding on to self pity, as if a choice is made to caress it. I guess it is like a bone or sore tooth. We keep turning back to watch and touch our sadness. Maybe there is some strange beauty inside which appears in songs and paintings. We keep circling back to it.

That time we sat in the evening silence 
in the face of the mesa 
and heard the sudden howl of a pack of coyotes, 
and had a thrill 
and a dread which was not fear of the pack, 
for we knew they were harmless. 
Just what was that dread— 
what did it relate to? 
Something ’way back in the race perhaps? 
We have strange ways of seeing. 

If we only knew— then we could tell. 
If we knew what we saw, we could paint it.

Henri, Robert. The Art Spirit (p. 30).
 Basic Books. Kindle Edition.

Rilke wrote:

...
But the darkness pulls in everything:
shapes and fires, animals and myself,
how easily it gathers them! -
powers and people -

and it is possible a great energy
is moving near me.

I have faith in nights.

Rainer Maria Rile, tr. Robert Bly, in
Selected Poems of Rainer Maria Rilke

Thanks for visiting my blog. I hope you are well and content.

10 thoughts on “#C20 Tacoma Trailer

  1. You have a thing for charcoal. Will you paint this? It is such a nice scene but it looks GREAT as is…gosh, I don’t know if I want to see it painted! The charcoal just fits.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love your charcoal, I didn’t catch that you’ll be turning it into a painting? If you do, I am interested in how you’ll approach it. By the way, I think for some reason people have the tendency to turn to the pain in our lives for traction or identity; what creates the most feeling or angst gathers the most attention or focus, imho.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Margaret. Yes, I have turned this into a painting – several in fact! Will be posting them today and the days to follow. How is your own painting going. I was looking in my reader for your posts but did not see anything. Will keep watching.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

