#A2: Storm Coming

Sunday. Some time to paint but caught without prepared canvas panels. I did find this one small gesso’d panel and decided to just do an acrylic version of the charcoal and chalk sketch shown below.

I am quite happy with the result and think I will try my hand at a few more acrylics again. The white gesso is quite rough and clearly shows in places, but it seems to give the painting a bit of pop and energy. I am also quite fond of this composition and this afternoon I made a charcoal and pastel version which I hope to post soon.

a2-sketch

This morning I read an interesting interview with the artist Ying Li on Painting Perceptions. I was quite inspired by her life story and also to see how she moved from realism to very abstract painting. The following quote in particular resonated with me:

Sometimes I stay in more representational manner because I feel I really got the character or something right there. Or the painting just works. However most times I don’t trust that feeling, I try to get past that point and dig harder into the painting, to find what it is really about. At a certain point the painting gets muddy and flat and I hit a wall. It bounces back instead of going deeper. Sometimes I find I am just repeating my own paintings. I have to paint through those moments, and look harder, I find the solution is always out there, the looking part leads to the clue.

Ying Li – from the her interview on Painting Perceptions.

I have always loved the following poem – the haunting sense of someone leaving at dawn without notice:

On this frosty day, 
clouds and mist congeal, 
On the mountain moon, 
the icy chill glows. 

At night I receive a letter 
from my home, 
At dawn I leave without 
anyone knowing.

The Nun "Fahai", quoted in
Grant, Beata. Daughters of Emptiness: 
Poems of Chinese Buddhist Nuns (p. 47). 
Wisdom Publications. Kindle Edition.

Thanks for stopping by my blog.

14 thoughts on “#A2: Storm Coming

  1. My goodness, it seems like you do well in all mediums! I would like to see what you can do with a simple set of Crayolas, I bet you can pull a beautiful painting out of your hat! I agree, the little flicks of white gives your painting pop. I’m going to take the time to read that interview with Ying Li and explore her paintings. Have a wonderful rest of your weekend, hope that it is restful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Many thanks Margaret! I don’t know about those Crayolas, but I really appreciate the compliment. Ying Li paints really abstract thick impasto oil, I don’t think it is in everyone’s taste. But if you see her representational paintings it shows she has seen both sides of the coin. Incredible also what a hard life she had. Humbling.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

