#O66: No News

I feel privileged to report that this is the view of the Waikato river from our bedroom window. The source photo is below. I did this painting in one session, doing my best to focus on the patterns and textures of the paint and not getting stuck in details.

I recently re-read the post about Gretna Campbell on Painting Perceptions, and each time I look at her paintings I am more and more attracted to the way in which she combines colors and leads the eye around the painting. I guess the above is my first attempt to bring some of that into my own painting.

o66-source

Strange days. I am fasting today. As I write this in the early evening I am in the throes of that – now familiar – phase where all the enthusiasm and health inspirations disappear and the personality starts debating about the pro’s and con’s of the endeavor.

When the personality is deprived of it’s sweeties, it feels threatened. It wants to know – literally – “if I can’t eat – where’s the beef?” That is the time – I have learned – when you have an opportunity to look deeper and find what lies beneath the familiar patterns and comforts of the self. You have to wade through the dark water to the white sand on the other side, find a deeper motivation for being alive.

The Tent
Outside, the freezing desert night.
This other night inside grows warm, kindling.
Let the landscape be covered with thorny crust.
We have a soft garden in here.
The continents blasted,
cities and little towns, everything
become a scorched, blackened ball.

The news we hear is full of grief for that future,
but the real news inside here
is there's no news at all

Rumi (translated by Coleman Barks)
This copy from Rumi Days

Thanks for visiting my blog.

8 thoughts on “#O66: No News

Leave a Reply

