#P23: Rain

This is a charcoal sketch I made a few days ago. It was supposed to be a foundation for a pastel painting which is shown below. But as often happens, the sketch turned out to have more soul than the more finished painting. Something about black and white and twilight.

p23

As all of us probably do, I sometimes wonder about the use of keeping a blog. William Stafford must have thought about this also:

Keeping a Journal
At night it was easy for me with my little candle 
to sit late recording what happened that day. Sometimes 
rain breathing in from the dark would begin softly 
across the roof and then drum wildly for attention. 
The candle flame would hunger after each wafting 
of air. My pen inscribed thin shadows that leaned 
forward and hurried their lines along the wall. 

More important than what was recorded, these evenings 
deepened my life: they framed every event 
or thought and placed it with care by the others. 
As time went on, that scribbled wall—even if 
it stayed blank—became where everything 
recognized itself and passed into meaning.

Stafford, William. 
Ask Me: 100 Essential Poems of William Stafford 
Graywolf Press. Kindle Edition.

Thanks for stopping by!

10 thoughts on “#P23: Rain

  1. love BOTH! I was instantly drawn to the charcoal. and then I looked more intently at the colored… both.
    SO Well done. filled with mood, feeling, interpretation….
    this is what I’d like people to “get” and to “understand” ! art is more than recording, replicating the scene.
    but infusing it with the artist’s own soul. As, You Did 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks so much for your kind words Debi, I really appreciate it. I feel like I am in a slump at the moment, weather here is no doubt a factor. Your comment made me get up and have another go at it!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Margaret, I am always surprised how different people react to paintings. Some of my paintings that got the most likes, I thought were nothing special when I posted them. You never know!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

