#O67: Stone Ledge

This is a small study of a scene I saw and photographed on my morning walk. The source photo is shown below. The photo of the painting is slightly left of horrible with lots of glare, but there it is.

This is the same place that featured in my earlier painting #O60: Hill Road Landscape. In the back you see the Hakarimata mountains, and above them the typical low clouds that gives New Zealand it’s Maori name “Aotearoa” – which means “Land of the long white cloud”.

o67-source

How I would have loved to spend a season with Wang Wei. Perhaps I did. He once wrote a letter to his friend P’ei Ti, which ended:

Now I am sitting alone listening to the silence. I think a lot about the old days, when we made poems together, climbing the steep tracks by clear streams. We must wait till the trees and grass grow green again, and, idling in spring hills, we can see fish leap in the light, the gulls soar, the white dew on green moss. At dawn we will hear the birds call in the fields. It is not long till then, when you could come wandering with me. If I did not know your natural sensibility, I would hold back from making even this indirect invitation. I speak from a deep impulse, but it is not pressing.

translated by Kline, A. S., in Like Water or Clouds: The T’ang Dynasty and the Tao

Short poem:

Our two cherry trees are in bloom.
In the morning my car is covered by petals.

better one by Wang Wei:

The Stone Ledge 
On the stone ledge above the water, 
Where willow leaf-tips drink the wine. 
If you say the spring breeze has no meaning, 
Why does it bring me all these falling flowers?

Wang Wei, translated by Kline, A. S., in
Like Water or Clouds: The T'ang Dynasty and the Tao

Thanks for stopping by. I hope you are happy and content.

One thought on “#O67: Stone Ledge

Leave a Reply

