#O69: Your Own Myth

This is a re-work of an old painting that was anxiously hanging around my studio waiting to be euthanized so that the frame could be re-used. This morning, after a long meditation, I got up and in the early morning light coming through the curtains I saw some possibility in it again.

I repainted the sky and middle ground in different colors and also added some slight color variation in the foreground and reflections. I am quite happy with it, I wish I could eliminate the glare from the photo.

o69

Today on a trip to the art store to buy some canvas, I saw a hardbound copy of Juliette Aristides’ beautiful, instructive and inspiring book: Lessons in Classical Painting. I bought it on the spot. In the introduction, I came across the following paragraph:

There is a correlation between the act of seeing, the arts (in every form), and a life worth living. Interestingly, the same habits and skills required to become an artist are also needed to become a fully realized person. “Everyone is born with a mind,” writes William Deresiewicz, “but it is only through introspection, observation, connecting the head and the heart, making meaning of experience, and finding an organizing purpose that you build a unique individual self.”

At the head of the prologue, Aristides quotes part of a Rumi poem. I looked it up and found the entire poem on Rumi Days. The poem is titled “Unfold Your Own Myth”. Here are the last three verses:

Jesus slips into a house to escape enemies,
and opens a door to the other world.
Solomon cuts open a fish, and there’s a gold ring.
Omar storms in to kill the prophet
and leaves with blessings.
 
But don’t be satisfied with stories, how things
have gone with others. Unfold
your own myth, so everyone will understand
the passage, We have opened you.
 
Start walking toward Shams. Your legs will get heavy
and tired. Then comes a moment of feeling
the wings you’ve grown, lifting.
Rumi, translated by Coleman Barks.
This version copied from: Rumi Days

Thank you for visiting my blog. I hope you are happy and content.

4 thoughts on “#O69: Your Own Myth

Leave a Reply

