#O70: The Changed One

This painting is based on the source photo shown below. It was taken many years ago, on the same day as the source for my painting #O64: Lonely, Lonely. It is the front entrance of an old building on an abandoned diary farm.

o70

The painting is not bad, but I feel it does not really do anything other than represent the photo. The sky is too dark and the roof too red. Lots of room to improve on the second try!

o70-source

A Meeting
In a dream I meet
my dead friend. He has,
I know, gone long and far,
and yet he is the same
for the dead are changeless.
They grow no older.
It is I who have changed,
grown strange to what I was.
Yet I, the changed one, 
ask: "How have you been?"
He grins and looks at me.
"I have been eating peaches
off some mighty fine trees."

Wendell Berry, from
The Collected Poems of Wendell Berry.

Thanks for visiting my blog.

11 thoughts on “#O70: The Changed One

  1. Not sure how you can improve it other than try it out in different mediums perhaps? I always think that a painting gives an essence that a standard photo can’t impart. I am pulled into the midst of the barn, your shadows and colors of the grass, the barn, the roof all combines to make a painting interesting, much better than the photo. I could see you doing this in charcoal and then hitting it with just one or two colors with pastel to give it some life, though strategically.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Margaret. I did a big watercolor of this about 10 years back and it came out very well. With watercolor I applied many glazes and got the light on that wall just right. With this painting, I had it at one stage, but somehow the rest moved ever so slightly out of place – to my taste. But I keep forgetting this is oil – so next weekend I can always go back and tone down that blue, and perhaps fade the red a bit. It is definitely also a theme I would like to do in charcoal one day. Thanks for your thoughtful comments.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s not a bad painting, it looks like the picture and I don’t think there is anything wrong with the roof or sky. I don’t see Fritz in this painting though. I would like to see Fritz. That is a compliment so I hope you take it that way. For myself, I enjoy your art because it is not sterile. It is moody and mysterious and thoughtful and peaceful. I don’t mean thoughtful as in you are constantly thinking about what you are doing and your next steps. I say thoughtful in that when I look at it I imagine someone deep in thought watching the sun go down or come up…the busy day ending, the storm coming in. A sense of wandering and loneliness and searching also comes to my mind when I look at your art but at the same time, a sort of dark peace. It is weird, like a tension between being unsettled but peaceful. Don’t know if that makes sense to you. It is difficult for people to make paintings full of expression and emotion. That is not difficult for you. Take advantage of it. Even if you paint from a picture, you can still put YOU into it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks very much for your very kind words Dawn. You are very kind and I appreciate so much that you see some heart in my art (that rhymes!). I sort of like this painting, but there is a wilderness element that is missing from it, for me, and perhaps that is what you also sense. But that is art for you – a never-ending quest for that perfect expression of what we feel. We just have to keep at it and enjoy the ride.
      I am not a very social person, and the conversations I have here on wordpress is about as chatty as I get, so it is good to have a place where one can really share what you think about your own work, without having to talk it up all the time for commercial reasons – having to look the perfect, confident artist all the time etc. I’m rambling…
      Thanks again for your comment!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am not a social person either Fritz and I appreciate the conversation as well. You know, I think that is exactly what I am missing. That sense of wandering. I don’t know how that sense comes from your hand and head onto canvas, but it does. Very emotional and I love it!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

