#O81: Time is no Healer

Last Saturday I drove to town and noticed this beautiful warm gray on the Waikato river as I crossed the Horotui bridge just north of Hamilton. On my way back I snapped a few photos and later I painted this out.

o81-2

I am quite pleased with this effort, and since we live on the banks of the Waikato river, it is a scene that is close to my heart. The source photo is below. The doves you see in the photo were actually flushed out by me as I hung over the bridge rail to take the photo. I may include them in the painting later on!

o81-source

I keep on finding lost parts of myself as I strive to pull my paintings closer to the ideal that exists in my mind at the start of each endeavor. It is frustrating at times, but I am becoming more at ease with painting my everyday surroundings and the places I know well.

It feels like I suddenly know, with some certainty,  what I should paint. And as Forest Gump said: “That’s one less thing”. Now I just need to allow 10 to 30 years to get really good at it, and I’m home free.

We keep on changing on our search for a home of the heart. When we arrive, we are no longer the same person who set out on the journey. If that is true, did we then really arrive?

T.S. Eliot wrote:

And the way up is the way down, the way forward is the way back.
You cannot face it steadily, but this thing is sure,
That time is no healer: the patient is no longer there.

Thanks for stopping by my little blog!

4 thoughts on “#O81: Time is no Healer

  1. Your river painting is wonderful, so many elements that truly draws me in, love reading about your thoughts and the poem by T.S. Eliot is one that I never read. That deep rich and very consistent green melds your painting into a feeling that I love.

    Like

Leave a Reply

