#O82: Exercise after Thomson

This is another quick copy of one of the Group of Seven artists (Tom Thompson) – done just to shake me out of color ruts and into seeing color possibilities I did not see before. The original is shown below (on the right) next to my very poor copy, done as a quick study on A4 canvas paper.

I did this purely as an exercise in copying one color spot after another – really not trying to copy the “scene” but only the spots of color. You can see in various areas of my copy I was getting tired and a bit careless, so some white blended into the color and it is not as vibrant as that of the original. Much, much more to learn about color and oil paint.

Sad tonight; away from home, and bad news from another home, far away. How I wish I could walk in open fields, eyes to the blue sky, using each hour I have, painting, painting, painting…with my mind and eyes.

In “Little Gidding”, one of the Four Quartets, T.S. Eliot wrote:

We shall not cease from exploration
And the end of all our exploring
Will be to arrive where we started
And know the place for the first time.

Through the unknown, unremembered gate
When the last of earth left to discover
Is that which was the beginning;
At the source of the longest river
The voice of the hidden waterfall
And the children in the apple-tree

Thanks for visiting!

4 thoughts on “#O82: Exercise after Thomson

  1. Sorry to hear about your news and your sadness. Your experimentation with color and shapes is fascinating, I have often wondered about that glow or combination that an artist pulls together to make a painting click or sing. Love how you are pursing though being in a sad mood. I am the very same way when I am sad or agitated, I need the outdoors to walk and meditate, nothing like it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

