#O83: Hakarimata Mountains

This painting is a bit larger than I am used to, and I am not so fond of painting mountain top vistas. I tackled this as an exercise in using broader strokes and stronger lines moving through the composition. The source photo is below, it is quite beautiful – a view from my morning walk.

The green middle ground is too bright for my taste, so I will chip away at getting it just right.

img_1741

I originally posted this painting as a much greener version which closely matched the source photo. But I found the green a bit garish, and the painting just did not convey the emotional tone I was looking for. Besides, there was no clear focal point – too many facets were competing to shine. So I reworked it. The old version is shown below on the right, the “current” version (watch this space) is to the left:

 

In her beautiful poem “The Fish”, Elizabeth Bishop writes of a fishing experience. The narrator is in a rented boat, and catches a massive fish. She hauls the fish aboard, minutely describes the fish, its scales, gills and eyes. Then she notices, from its gaping jaw, five pieces of fish-line where the old fish had fought and beaten five other fishermen. She continues:

...
Like medals with their ribbons
frayed and wavering,
a five-haired beard of wisdom
trailing from his aching jaw.
I stared and stared
and victory filled up
the little rented boat,
from the pool of bilge
where oil had spread a rainbow
around the rusted engine
to the bailer rusted orange,
the sun-cracked thwarts,
the oarlocks on their strings,
the gunnels- until everything
was rainbow, rainbow, rainbow!
And I let the fish go.

Thanks for visiting my blog. I hope you are happy and content.

11 thoughts on “#O83: Hakarimata Mountains

  1. I love it. I even love the green you think is too bright. I would say leave it alone! But I know how it is when you as the artist aren’t quite happy…so do what ya gotta do….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Dawn! Yes, I want to get away from the feeling that with each painting I only have “one shot at it”. Knowing I can go back and rework areas that needs improvement makes me more relaxed about it. I know some famous artists who worked on their paintings for 10 years or more!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

