#O84: After Mondrian

This was another exercise in copying a master painting, to jog me out of my color habits into something new. Most people know Piet Mondrian for his minimalist colorful abstract paintings, but he actually painted beautiful atmospheric landscapes and flowers also.

The original is shown side by side with my own, rather poor copy below. Mine on the left, Mondrian’s on the right. Once again, I worked against the clock and on canvas paper, so it is not intended to be a “work of art”.

A short poem for you:

Spring Night: An Impromptu Poem 
The wild reed breezes have 
secretly left with the wind, 
The brilliance of the chaotic 
springtime already half gone. 
Leaning over the stone balustrade, 
I rest for a little while, 
The courtyard moon somewhere 
between there and not. 

Chinese Nun Jingnuo,
translated by Grant, Beata, in
Daughters of Emptiness: Poems of Chinese Buddhist Nuns 
Wisdom Publications.

Thanks for visiting!

4 thoughts on “#O84: After Mondrian

  1. I missed seeing this when you first posted it. Sometimes longish spells go by when I’m not on wordpress. I think it’s marvelous your copying Mondrian. It’s this early work of his that I think constitutes his true art (afraid I cannot get on board with the squares which I think were his capitulation to an idea of the “modern” that led him, sadly, away from the real deal which clearly he had in him). Anyway! He is peculiarly your artist. You share certain sensibilities in common — the landscape that is resonant with feeling, a chamber into which feelings find expression, a large capacious space of meaning and thought. Rembrandt landscapes, though few in number, have similar qualities. Degas’s landscapes also. The possibilities for psychological landscape are huge — very rich territory.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I could not agree with you more Aletha, about everything you said about Mondrian. I am in awe of his drawings of Chrysanthemums – the value range and mystery of them. Also I think I read somewhere that towards the end of his life he started to simplify his life, devote his time to his pigeons and started drawing flowers again. What a man.
      Many thanks for your kind words about my art – it really touches my heart. I am also taking something from your phrase “the psychological landscape” – there are so many meanings in that idea. You are a genius!
      I often think of things I want to tell you when I do my morning walk, but alas, at the end of the day when I get to my blog I have almost no energy left – but I wanted to talk about that phrase of yours. Will look out for a chance and maybe start up a conversation on one of your next posts.
      Thanks again!

      Like

Leave a Reply

