#O87: The Day Turns

Waikato Farm (Oil on Canvas, 12 x 16″). The source photo is shown below. This is a very typical New Zealand scene – green pastures with the milking shed taking center stage. The mountains in the back are the Hakarimatas – I warmed the color up quite a bit.

o87-source

A poem by a farmer – I have always loved the idea of my tasks being in their places, asleep, like cattle:

I go among trees

I go among trees and sit still.
All my stirring becomes quiet
around me like circles on water.
My tasks lie in their places
where I left them, asleep like cattle.

Then what I am afraid of comes.
I live for a while in its sight.
What I fear in it leaves it,
and the fear of it leaves me.
It sings, and I hear its song.

After days of labor,
mute in my consternations,
I hear my song at last,
and I sing it. As we sing,
the day turns, the trees move.

Wendell Berry, from 
A Timbered Choir: Sabbath Poems

Thanks for visiting!

One thought on “#O87: The Day Turns

Leave a Reply

