#O89: Kind Hammers Fall

Waikato River at Dusk (Oil on Canvas, 16 x 20″). This is a view of the beautiful Waikato river from across where I live. The source photo is below.

o89-source

I guess I had to post this painting. It is a number. I wish I could move on from this sort of painting.

Waiting for the tide to turn and bring the clear days back to me. Transtromer knew this sort of day:

Allegro
After a black day, I play Haydn,
and feel a little warmth in my hands.
The keys are ready. Kind hammers fall.
The sound is spirited, green, and full of silence.
The sound says that freedom exists
and someone pays no tax to Caesar.
I shove my hands in my haydnpockets
and act like a man who is calm about it all.
I raise my haydnflag. The signal is:
We do not surrender. But want peace.”
The music is a house of glass standing on a slope;
rocks are flying, rocks are rolling.
The rocks roll straight through the house
but every pane of glass is still whole.

Tomas Transtromer, transl. Robert Bly, in
The Half Finished Heaven,
this copy from Tomas Transtromer

Thanks for stopping by.

17 thoughts on “#O89: Kind Hammers Fall

    1. Thanks FR – yes, it is difficult to explain, but in this case the photo is really in my opinion better. There is a certain type of feeling, emotion, whatever – some paintings have it, some don’t. But it is part of the game, you just need to keep on painting, taking photos, etc! Thanks for your kind words.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Welcome, I would greatly appreciate it if you could have a look at my page as well, would love to hear your views. Cheers!☺

        Like

Leave a Reply

