#O98: Taken on Trust

I was after the feeling of a wet, moody overcast day in which one could be happy for no reason. A larger image and the source photo is shown below.

o98

The source photo below was taken on my daily walk, almost at the same point as the image I painted in this post.

o98-source

…And my aim in my life is to make pictures and drawings, as many and as well as I can; then, at the end of my life, I hope to pass away, looking back with tender regret, thinking, ‘Oh, the pictures I might have made!’ (Vincent Van Gogh in a letter to his brother Theo).

Every day – some days more than others – I have to trust that my paintings, my little efforts, has some meaning. That all the paintings standing around with no home, can still bring the heart home. Trust is needed.

Two excerpts on trust, from poems I know:

For the mind in harmony with the Tao,
    all selfishness disappears.
With not even a trace of self-doubt,
    you can trust the universe completely.
All at once you are free,
    with nothing left to hold on to.
All is brilliant,
    perfect in its own being.

(from The Mind of Absolute Trust, by Sent-Ts'an;
from The Enlightened Heart)
Schubertiana
...How much we have to take on trust every minute we live in
  order not to drop through the earth!
Take on trust the snow masses clinging to rocksides over the
  town.
Take on trust the unspoken promises, and the smile of
   agreement, trust that the telegram does not concern us, and
that the sudden ax blow from inside is not coming.
Trust the axles we ride on down the thruway among the swarm
  of steel bees magnified three hundred times.
But none of that stuff is really worth the trust we have.
The five string instruments say that we can take something else
   on trust, and they walk with us a bit on the road.
As when the lightbulb goes out on the stair, and the hand
  follows - trusting it - the blind banister rail that finds its
  way in the dark.

Tomas Transtromer (translation Robert Bly), from
The Half Finished Heaven. Line breaks here are my own.

Thanks for visiting my blog. I hope you are happy and content.

9 thoughts on “#O98: Taken on Trust

    1. This picture and some of your other paintings sometimes remind me a bit of Matisse when Matisse was doing landscapes in the period after 1916. You never mention Matisse and I’m guessing he’s not an influence, but you and he have some things in common nonetheless. Here’s an example:

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks so much Aletha. I have to say I like Matisse, but have always thought his work is too ‘line-centred’ to my taste. But I really like the landscape you have posted below and will definitely research it some more. Thanks so much for the interest and the compliment.

        Like

      1. I am doing well. Have been a bit busy so not getting to paint as much, but still a few times a week. I am behind posting! I am just behind period.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

