#O115: Outside Our Common Will

Fritz Jooste: Outside our Common Will (2016, Oil on Canvas, 12 x 16").

I am quite happy with this painting and I thoroughly loved doing it. Feels like I have come up for air in my last few paintings! Some of my family and blogging friends have responded positively, but understandably some may feel a bit shell shocked looking at these last few compared to my first 100 paintings! Hang in there, it may change again…or not?

Fritz Jooste: Outside our Common Will (2016, Oil on Canvas, 12 x 16
Fritz Jooste: “Outside our Common Will” (2016, Oil on Canvas, 12 x 16″).

Tomas Transtromer is rapidly becoming my favorite poet for this month. His poem “A Few Moments” reflects, I think, our common search for the deeper parts of our being, perhaps the source of all creativity?

A Few Moments
The drawf pind on marsh grounds holds its head up: a dark rag.
But what you see is nothing compared to the roots,
the widening, secretly growing, deathless or half-
deathless root system.

I you she he also puts roots out.
Outside our common will.
Outside the City.

Rain drifts from the summer sky that's pale as mild.
It is as if my five senses were hooked up to some other
  creature
that moves with the same stubborn flow
as the runners in white circling the track as the night comes
   misting in.

Tomas Transtromer, trans. Robert Bly in:
The Half Finished Heaven

Thanks for visiting my blog!

13 thoughts on “#O115: Outside Our Common Will

  1. I wouldn’t call looking at this as being shell shocked, more like watching you walk on the wild side of color and emotion which I feel is a joy and surprise. I am so glad that you aren’t staying within the realm of moody paintings, which I do love but this is something altogether joyous and freeing. I love the color, the texture, the emotion and do I spy some finger gestures? Go you! I enjoy looking at all sections of your painting but that area with the mid tone grayed area on the horizon line on the left makes me drool. I’ll look up your latest poet, never heard of him. Reading back what I wrote here seems to be a redundancy but I can’t help myself, I think that some of it needed repeating. Cheers! enjoy the rest of your weekend.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi Margaret! Thanks so much for your kind comment. Yes, indeed there are some fingers that got into the mix in making this painting. Thanks a lot for your encouragement – I am doing some wild things, not all of it is pretty, but I believe they are stepping stones of my life, and I am happy to have them. Hope you are well and making progress on your own journey – how can you not!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

