#O129: Gentle Downward Slope

I did this painting several weeks ago. It is one of my favorites when viewed from a distance. Definitely not a pretty picture, but I feel it captures the depth, desolation and solitude of an expansive marshland at twilight in the way I visit it now and as a child in my daydreams.

o129


Tomas Transtromer starts his poem “The Indoors is Endless”, like this:

It’s spring in 1827, Beethoven
hoists his death-mask and sails off.

he continues later to outline Eric, we presume from Stockholm, “done down by a curse”.

The grindstones are turning in Europe’s windmills.
The wild geese are flying northwards.
All the surface action turns inwards.
He’s taken apart, put together.

The wind rises and the wild rose bushes
catch on the fleeing light.

The future opens, he looks into
the self-rotating kaleidoscope

sees indistinct fluttering faces
family faces not yet born.

By mistake his gaze strikes me
as I walk around here in Washington

among grandiose houses where only
every second column bears weight.

White buildings in crematorium style
where the dream of the poor turns to ash.

The gentle downward slope gets steeper
and imperceptibly becomes an abyss.

Tomas Transtromer, this copy from
Poetry Foundation

There are enough sensory/emotional imagery here for 10 paintings.

Thanks for visiting my blog!

8 thoughts on “#O129: Gentle Downward Slope

    1. Thanks FR! Yes putting such a bright and rather large spot of intense blue down was a risk but I feel it paid off in this case. Sorry I have been a bit busy and tired and have not kept up with your walking photos. Hope to do so soon!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. My eye is drawn to that storybook of a horizon line…..and to the right. Interesting your choice of words about viewing it as a child’s daydreams. Maybe not pretty in some people’s eyes but I see it more as accent marks within a story. I always grab the feeling and essence of what I am looking at and then obviously the color and then perhaps the “putting together” of a painting. Of course it always depends on the painting. Oh that blue though…..without that blue setting up your story, well, it wouldn’t be the same!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Margaret for you kind comment. Not sure if you have posted anything recently, I have been a bit too busy to check but in any event – I hope all is well with you and your creative endeavors.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

