#O142: Empire of Dreams

This is an abstracted landscape I painted a week or two ago. I am pleased with this painting – specifically how it abstracts the landscape almost completely, but not quite.

o142

 

I love how Charles Simic’s poems transcend and transport across time and space in the blink of an eye. Here is his poem “Empire of Dreams”

Empire of Dreams
On the first page of my dreambook
It’s always evening
In an occupied country.
Hour before the curfew.
A small provincial city.
The houses all dark.
The storefronts gutted.
I am on a street corner
Where I shouldn’t be.
Alone and coatless
I have gone out to look
For a black dog who answers to my whistle.
I have a kind of Halloween mask
Which I am afraid to put on.

 

this copy from Poetry Foundation

 

Thanks for visiting!

4 thoughts on “#O142: Empire of Dreams

Leave a Reply

