O199-200: Widening Rings of Being

Well, that is 200 oil paintings since I started this blog. These two paintings were also based on photos taken back in South Africa (shown below).

#O200
#O200: That Day

I have been thinking about blogging, having/expressing opinions and what – if anything – can be known for sure. Pessoa’s fictional spokesperson had something to say about this:

No problem has a solution. None of us can untie the Gordian knot; either we give up or we cut it. We brusquely resolve intellectual problems with our feelings, either because we’re tired of thinking, or because we’re afraid to draw conclusions, or because of an inexplicable need to latch on to something, or because of a gregarious impulse to return to other people and to life. Since we can never know all the factors that a problem entails, we can never solve it. To arrive at the truth we would need more data, along with the intellectual resources for exhaustively interpreting the data.

Pessoa, Fernando. The Book of Disquiet (Penguin Modern Classics)

#O199
#O199: Farm near Cullinan

The source photos (old printed copies photographed) are shown below:

In Philip Kapleau’s book “Zen: Merging of East and West” a Zen student had an experience which made him reconsider what can be known with the thinking mind:

I knew tearfully the next day I did not and could not know anything about Mu – that “I did not know” was the answer to every conceivable question. And I went out in the fields at noon among the warm and peaceful birds and insects and grass and I cried bitterly as I saw that there was nothing to hold on to – nothing. And that I had no choice but to submit.

Rumi has the final word today. Here is an excerpt from his poem “A Community of the Spirit” (this copy from Poet Seers):

Be empty of worrying.
Think of who created thought!

Why do you stay in prison
when the door is so wide open?

Move outside the tangle of fear-thinking.
Live in silence.

Flow down and down in always
widening rings of being.

From Rumi – Selected Poems (Penguin Classics)
Translated by Coleman Barks with John Moyne

Thanks for visiting my blog. I hope you are happy and content.

3 thoughts on “O199-200: Widening Rings of Being

  1. Congratulations on the 200th! what a wonderful milestone — the blog format enlarges the first picture and I enjoy seeing its details as if I were wandering in the field portrayed. The second one is reproduced smaller so I have to use the enlargement feature to see it, but I guess that makes it kind of like a jewel in a setting. Or using a poetry metaphor, it’s like a haiku painting. Small, but full of thoughts.

    I like to wander through the textures of a picture. Isn’t it somewhat like admiring individual leaves of grass in a turf of grass?

    The yard is full of dandelions now. They are so gorgeous. I have been wanting to sit outside and paint one of the plants from life but I’m afraid my neighbors will think I’m crazy! Most people want to rid their yards of dandelions when they are such prolific, creative, hard-working, determined little plants! And so beautiful with their serrated leaves and soft yellow flowers and then globe of seeds! What say you, Fritz? Should one paint them anyway?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your kind comment Aletha. I too like seeing the details of the paint but sometimes I feel a smaller image conveys better what the painting would look like when seen from across a room in a frame. A smaller image seems to convey the unity, totality of the image better.
      I say: go paint those dandelions! Was it Emerson who said a weed was just a plant whose virtues have not been discovered.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was pretty sure you’d advise me to paint the dandelions, but it’s still pleasant to actually read the encouraging words. Emerson was a good man. It’s been raining the last few days, but one thing about dandelions is that once they get started the stick around all season. I’m getting ready.

        Like

Leave a Reply

