#O201: Quiet Pine Winds

Have reworked this painting to improve the unity of color somewhat. I like the second version better. The post shows an image of both versions.

Fruitful Dark

This is another painting based on an old photograph (shown below). This is about a 10 x 8″ painting (oil on board). I am pushing my skills a bit to use a source image without being controlled by it.

For a recovering perfectionist, this is an exercise in letting go. Music helps, and not being to precious about saving the outcome for posterity. A more than anything, being guided by thoughts of pleasing an imaginary audience watching from the wings.

Below is the first version of the painting, which I originally posted:

#O201

After seeing this image on the web, I felt it lacked a bit of unity, so I worked it over with a brush:

#O201b

The source photo (below) is of a typical afternoon on the South African highveld. As you can see I did a pretty loose interpretation of it. I decided early on that the heart of the…

View original post 135 more words

3 thoughts on “#O201: Quiet Pine Winds

Leave a Reply

