O222: A Remembered Time

Tonight is a very special post for me. Last week I entered the “Arts for Health” Competition here in Hamilton, Waikato.  I have always been somewhat private about my art and this was the first competition I have ever entered. So I was absolutely humbled and honored when one of my paintings was awarded the 1st Place Prize. My cup runneth over…

Arts-for-Health-Award1

In my last few paintings I have slowed down the pace a bit and also painted in a thinner style. Although I am sure I will return again to the palette knife soon, I am quite happy with some of the results I have achieved.

I once saw an exhibition of Toss Woollaston, a great New Zealand painter, and was amazed at how thin the paint was applied in some of his oil on board paintings. To me, it seemed that he had barely stained the surface, but the combination of color created a richness and depth that took my breath away.

In this invented landscape I also worked very thin, and even left most of the under-painting exposed. I just added some opaque color in places to the landscape so that it could set the scene for the sky.

#O222
#O221: Oil on Panel (approx 60 x 40 cm)

I wrote earlier in this blog that on the occasion that I end up painting something I really like, something that makes me gently nostalgic or sad, there is an awareness that some element of space and time had been transcended. I noted:

It is hard to explain, but there is a sense that something had come into the world through me, something that is me but somehow more than me. I guess this does not make much sense?

OK, here is how Wallace Stevens explained it:

The Planet on the Table

Ariel was glad he had written his poems.
They were of a remembered time
Or of something seen that he liked.

Other makings of the sun
Were waste and welter
And the ripe shrub writhed.

His self and the sun were one
And his poems, although makings of his self,
Were no less makings of the sun.

It was not important that they survive.
What mattered was that they should bear
Some lineament or character,

Some affluence, if only half-perceived,
In the poverty of their words,
Of the planet of which they were part.

Wallace Stevens

I have gotten into the habit to make a few thumbnail sketches of landscapes early morning with my coffee. These are mostly invented but based on memories of my walks around my home in the Waikato. Doing these thumbnails, I feel completely relaxed and can play without any fear of something turning out “wrong”. Here are some outcomes:

IMG_3042

 

Thanks so much to all of you who have encouraged me with follows, likes and comments. I hope you are truly happy and content.

23 thoughts on “O222: A Remembered Time

  1. Congratulations, Fritz. That’s a proud moment! Interesting how when we try something new – a technique or colour or use a new tool – it lets us play in a new way. I took a writing course that encouraged writing to prompts for 10 minutes every day without any expectation of continuing the work and to use the opportunity to write without concern for outcome which is exactly what you do with your sketches. Once again the line blurs between visual and written art.

    One of the things I enjoy about your posts are your pairings of your paintings with your reading. The Wallace Stevens poem aptly explains that rare feeling we get when we are pleased with something we made.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Susanne. I can completely identify with what you say about “without concern for outcome”. Not only in the sketches, but for several months now I have frequently painted over anything I did earlier if I feel it no longer or never brought out an emotional response in me. This means many of my paintings have a limited lifespan, so I am seldom too precious about them, and this helped to free up my style and made me enjoy painting to much more.

      Thanks again for your comment!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Johan! Goed om te sien hjy potter weer bietjie rond op WordPress! Ek moet se, die onverwagse toekenning het my meer plesier gegee as enige besigheid-sukses tot dusver. Snaaks die lewe, ne!

      Like

    1. Many thanks Margaret. Yes, I took a break from painting and blogging a while ago but now slowly coming into routine again. Your art is growing by leaps and bounds IMO, keep it up!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you Fritz, but now I am getting lazy on blogging here on WP, my computer and WP don’t like each other too well or something. I will be going to the coast next week but perhaps I’ll try to get back to posting once things settle down. I really do miss posting here my watercolor adventures.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, I think lots of painter-bloggers here on WP miss you when you take a break. But I do understand, if you have to choose between painting and blogging, well then blogging is going to lose out!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. As you may have gathered, I am revisiting your blog this morning, even pictures I have looked at before. I love the raw colour of this, and I note the thinner application of paint. Although the rectangle of the canvas has to be a selection, there is a great sense of space here, a feeling that the landscape continues in the viewer’s peripheral vision. I think that is driven by the dynamism of the clouds.

    Like

Leave a Reply

