O224: And I Let the Fish Go

This is a landscape I see often on my morning walk. I have painted it before and posted the result in this post. The earlier painting is shown below and is one of those I have kept around my studio longest.

o83-2

 

In my latest attempt I have aimed for something more abstract and wild, centered around patterns and textures. I am not sure I have succeeded in my goal yet, so I see this as a work in progress. The different stages up to now are shown below:

O224-1O224-2O224-3

Robert Henri wrote:

He who has contemplated has met with himself, is in a state to see into the realities beyond the surfaces of his subject. Nature reveals to him, and, seeing and feeling intensely, he paints, and whether he wills it or not each brush stroke is an exact record of such as he was at the exact moment the stroke was made.

Henri, Robert. The Art Spirit

I will end this post from something I wrote and a poem I quoted with the above painting on my first attempt, back in October 2016:

In her beautiful poem “The Fish”, Elizabeth Bishop writes of a fishing experience. The narrator is in a rented boat, and catches a massive fish. She hauls the fish aboard, minutely describes the fish, its scales, gills and eyes. Then she notices, from its gaping jaw, five pieces of fish-line where the old fish had fought and beaten five other fishermen. She continues:

...
Like medals with their ribbons
frayed and wavering,
a five-haired beard of wisdom
trailing from his aching jaw.
I stared and stared
and victory filled up
the little rented boat,
from the pool of bilge
where oil had spread a rainbow
around the rusted engine
to the bailer rusted orange,
the sun-cracked thwarts,
the oarlocks on their strings,
the gunnels- until everything
was rainbow, rainbow, rainbow!
And I let the fish go.

Thanks for visiting my blog. I hope you are happy and content.

 

7 thoughts on “O224: And I Let the Fish Go

  1. These paintings are beautiful and I love seeing your process! What size are you working with and do you work on location or do you take the idea and work and rework it in your studio? I was an illustrator for so many years, working with different mediums and am curious if you work with just oil to perfect the work you produce?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Yolande. Many thanks for your kind words. In this painting, I worked mainly from memory and photos. Most of my other landscapes are invented based on memory. The size of this one is about 600 x450 mm. I used to work in watercolor but these days I mainly work in oil – I dont like keeping work behind glass, and also I just could not get the richness in darks that I wanted in watercolor. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

