#A5: September Skies

Late home tonight, and tired; so only time for a quick acrylic sketch. This one is a bit larger than normal, and I dashed it off in about 40 mins. Source/concept photo (below) is from back in Africa, many seasons ago.

a5-source

A poem by Wang Wei after a hard day:

Drifting

September skies are clear to the distance 
Clearer still so far from human kind. 
A heron by the pool, a mountain cloud, 
Either of them makes the mind content. 
The faintest ripples still and evening’s here. 
The moon turns silver and I dream, 
Tonight leaning on a single oar, 
Drifting without thought of going home.

translated by Kline, A. S.. 
Like Water or Clouds: The T'ang Dynasty and the Tao 
Poetry in Translation.

 

Thanks for visiting.

5 thoughts on “#A5: September Skies

  1. I love the texture in the sky. I know it is gesso, but love it anyway. I have quite the fondness for gesso that shows its strokes. The clouds are lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment